Student Playwriting Competition 

Submissions for the 2023 Write Here! Write Now! Student Playwriting competition have closed.

On May 2, 2023 at 7:00 pm, we will hold staged readings of the winning plays, performed by professionally trained actors for an audience of the winners’ families and friends. Each winner will also receive a scholarship towards any Trinity Rep Young Actors Studio after-school class and 20 free tickets to a 2023-24 Season Project Discovery student matinee for their school.

For more information on entering please email

About Write Here! Write Now!

Resources for Teachers

English, creative writing, and theater arts teachers are encouraged to incorporate playwriting into their curriculum. To get inspiration on bringing this program to your classroom, use this study guide, which includes a five-day lesson plan, and print this poster to display in your school. 

Adjudication Process

Scripts are adjudicated through a blind evaluation process by Trinity Rep staff and local writers, and all students receive written feedback on their submissions. 


From the moment the winning scripts are chosen, Trinity Rep dramaturgs, directors, and actors work with the student writers to clarify and breathe physical life into the playwrights’ words and worlds.

The festival portion of Write Here! Write Now! strives to honor the student writers’ texts while offering the playwrights the chance to see their work alive on stage for the first time. Winning scripts receive staged readings directed by Trinity Rep staff and performed by professional actors.

In addition, winners’ will receive a scholarship towards a Young Actors Studio after-school class and 20 free tickets to a Project Discovery student matinee for their school for the upcoming 2023-24 Season.


The Dragon’s Crown – William Derby – Jacqueline M. Walsh School for the Arts, Pawtucket, RI
Busy People – Seoyon Kim – The Wheeler School, Providence, RI
The Sudden Plunge of a Great Creature – Wesley Memery – La Salle Academy, Cranston, RI
Plants Don’t Count as Friends – Eisley Morgan – Classical High School, Providence, RI

2023 Honorable Mentions

Watch the Stars – Ace Mosier – Barrington High School, Barrington, RI
The Weight of the Human Heart – Noelle “Ellis” Bastein – Homeschooled, Pawtucket, RI



2022 Winners
The Great, Great Outdoors – William Derby – Jacqueline M. Walsh School for the Arts, Pawtucket, RI
Mortal Dilemma – MJ Kirsche – East Catholic High School, Manchester, CT
Grandma is Dying – Lucas Manso – North Attleborough High School, North Attleborough, MA
An Unwritten Love Story – Tosin George – Cranston High School East, Cranston, RI

2022 Honorable Mentions
Stuck – Brandon Potrzeba – East Providence High School, East Providence, RI
You Say You Want a Revolution – Ava Milukas – Tiverton High School, Tiverton, RI

2021 Winners
Purple – by Ramona Boyd – The Lincoln School, Providence, RI 
The Ally’s Burden – by Tosin George – Cranston HS East, Cranston, RI
Fights – by Charlie Boucher – La Salle Academy, Cranston, RI
Anyways– by Philip Byrnes – Dighton Rehoboth HS, Dighton, MA

2021 Honorable Mentions
In G-d’s Eyes – by Samantha Brower – The Lincoln School, Providence, RI
Scratched – by Bedros Kevorkian – Cranston HS East, Cranston, RI
What I do at Night – by KK Eydenberg – Applewild School, Groton, MA

2020 Winners
Run, Ferret, Run
– Carolyn Jane Ferullo – The Lincoln School, Providence
Welcome to Hell -Amiya Mandapati- The Lincoln School, Providence
Friends without Benefits – Ayrin Ramirez – Central High School, Providence
The Bee – Madilyn Spear – Framingham High School, MA

2020 Honorable Mentions
Far and Gone – Erlinda Castro – Trinity Academy for the Performing Arts, Providence, RI
The Soccer Mom – Kailani Reis – Dighton Rehoboth High School, Dighton, MA

The 2020 festival took place virtually. Winning plays can be viewed here.

2019 Winners
A Cryptic Brunch – Sam Weiler – Rocky Hill School, West Greenwich
The Things I Wish I Could Say – Jillian Aaronnalt – East Providence High School
Lonesome Blues – Amanda Fawell – Framingham High School, MA
Sabotage – Cori Diaz – Rockville High School, CT

2019 Honorable Mentions
The Treehouse Conspiracy – Noah Sorin – St. Johnsbury Academy, VT
Jerry’s One Stop – Kate Fitzgerald – Lincoln School

The festival took place on May 21, 2019.

2018 Winners
62 Moons – Kate Fitzgerald – Lincoln School, Providence
The Case of the Stolen Sandwich – Jonathan Baron – LaSalle Academy
Rattlesnake – James Roberts – Putney School, Putney VT
Grandma and Technology – Emma Paulhus – Dighton Rehoboth Regional High School, MA

2018 Honorable Mentions
Boys. Period. – Catherine Giorgetti – Framingham High School, MA
Accidental Burial – Rachel Fickes – St. Johnsbury Academy- St. Johnsbury VT

The festival took place on May 7, 2018.

2017 Winners
Catch 42 – Bella Lillsebbas – Providence, RI
The Story of the Night Sky – Anna Tarasuk – Richmond, RI
Watermelon Boy – Jordana Kagan- Framingham, MA
Eliza’s Artist – Laura Costello – Vernon, CT

2017 Honorable Mention
Sequins – Julia Somma – Vernon, CT
Eighteen – Sophie Colantuono – Providence,  RI

Please email with inquiries.

The 2019 Winners: