By Caitlin Howle

With our upcoming production of Sweat by Lynn Nottage, which won the Pulitzer Prize in Drama in 2017, we take a look at the history of Pulitzer Prize-winners produced here at Trinity Rep and are proud to continue to showcase these inspiring works. The Pulitzer Prize in Drama is awarded once a year and has recognized plays since 1918, spotlighting American authors who write original works about life in America. Sweat will be our 27th Prize winner — though we have produced some more than once. Lynn Nottage is the only woman to have won the prize more than once — her first being the 2009 award for Ruined. She is currently a professor in playwriting at Columbia University, but she has a local connection as a Brown University graduate. Her plays are currently produced worldwide. Now, take a look at our list of Pulitzer Prize winners here at Trinity Rep and get ready for our next production, Sweat, running April 2 – May 3.

Sweat by Lynn Nottage, awarded 2017 (2019-20 Season)

Clybourne Park by Bruce Norris, awarded 2011 (2011-12 Season)

A Delicate Balance by Edward Albee, awarded 1967 (2006-07 Season)

• Topdog/Underdog by Suzan-Lori Parks, awarded 2002 (2004-05 Season)

Proof by David Auburn, awarded 2001 (2003-04 Season)

Wit by Margaret Edson, awarded 1999 (2001-02 Season)

Dinner with Friends by Donald Margulies, awarded 2000 (2001-02 Season)

The Piano Lesson by August Wilson, awarded 1990 (2000-01 Season)

How I Learned to Drive by Paula Vogel, awarded 1998 (1997-98 Season)

Angels in America Part 1: Millennium Approaches by Tony Kushner, awarded 1993 (1995-96/1996-97 Season)

Fences by August Wilson, awarded 1987 (1991-92 Season)

The Heidi Chronicles by Wendy Wasserstein, awarded 1989 (1991-92/2015-16 Seasons)

Glengarry Glen Ross by David Mamet, awarded 1984 (1986-87 Season)

Our Town by Thornton Wilder, awarded 1938 (1986-87/2006-07 Season)

Cat on a Hot Tin Roof by Tennessee Williams, awarded 1955 (1985-86 Season)

Crimes of the Heart by Beth Henley, awarded 1981 (1983-84 Season)

The Gin Game by Donald L. Coburn, awarded 1978 (1981-82 Season)

Talley’s Folly by Lanford Wilson, awarded 1980 (Summer 1981)

Buried Child by Sam Shepard, awarded 1979 (1979-80 Season)

The Shadow Box by Michael Cristofer, awarded 1977 (1978-79 Season)

Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller, awarded 1949 (1978-79/2017-18 Seasons)

You Can’t Take It With You by Moss Hart and George S. Kaufman, awarded 1937 (1970-71 Season)

Harvey by Mary Chase, awarded 1945 (1970-71 Season)

The Skin of Our Teeth by Thornton Wilder, awarded 1943 (1969-70/2002-03 Seasons)

A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams, awarded 1948 (1966-67 Season)

The Time of Your Life by William Saroyan, awarded 1940 (Summer 1965)

Long Day’s Journey into Night by Eugene O’Neill, awarded 1957 (1965-66/1995-96 Seasons)